Thankful for the Scars

Waking up to a new sunrise

Looking back from the other side

I can see now with open eyes

Darkest water and deepest pain

I wouldn’t trade it for anything

‘Cause my brokenness brought me to you

And these wounds are a story you’ll use

~ “Scars” by I AM THEY

This song popped up on my Up Next, and it really spoke to me, even deeper than I thought it would. Go and give it a listen right here.

We all have scars. Some deeper and far more painful than others.

Some of them are old, and some are possibly new and you wince thinking about them. Now, you’ve probably heard the story of Joseph and his Brothers.

His brothers sold him into captivity. But the wounds and trauma didn’t break him. You don’t think he had scars? I think he did. Some really big ones. But this is what he tells his brothers, after all he’d been through.

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”

‭‭Genesis‬ ‭50:20‬ NIV

God uses the scars for good. I can testify firsthand to this. There’s times in your life that it’s so hard you just don’t want to go on anymore. But you do, you persevere through to the other side of the Storm, and you grow because of it. God grows you.

He uses those scars, however excruciating, to further His purpose, strengthen you, and lift you up. He’s not going to leave you in the dirt if you don’t give up on Him.

God is good, and those scars, He’s gonna use them for good. Don’t lose sight of that when the pain’s too much to bear. There’s someone else who has scars: but His scars are the only things that saved us. Without His scars, there’s no point in ours. But with them? Someday we’ll look back and we’ll see that it was all for a reason. We’ll see that everything we endured was painful, yes; but in the end, if we stuck with God, it all turned out for good.

It doesn’t mean the scars are gone; but we’ll be better people because of them. The scars are not for nothing. He’s gonna use them and turn it all around. We may not see it right now; in fact, we may never. But one day it’ll all become crystal clear and we’ll see that every single one of them had a God-given purpose: to change us, and change the world.

“So I’m thankful for the scars

‘Cause without them I wouldn’t know your heart

And I know they’ll always tell of who you are

So forever I am thankful for the scars”

2 thoughts on “Thankful for the Scars

Leave a comment